Training has begun…

Monday marked the start of my 16 week training program. Komen offers a 16 week program and a 24 week program. While I’m not the most active person this is my 6th time walking so I know I won’t need 6 months to prepare. During training Monday’s are usually a “rest” day but I couldn’t rest on this specific one. I had a nice hike with some coworkers after work, some silly conversation and then I reflected on the sunset on my drive home.  

A few weeks ago I took out my calendar to prepare myself for when training would start this year. When I counted back from my event my thumb quivered over May 8th. To most it’s a random Monday in May. Sometimes it’s even Mother’s Day. Last year it was! I held my breath because while I know someone with that birthday it represents something entirely different now. It marks the day that this world lost Chantella. Sweet, kind, generous, Chantella. There aren’t enough words to describe her. She was a sister. An aunt. A Breast Cancer Survivor. And a friend to many. At 31, with no family history, Chantella was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. She didn’t die from the cancer. Oh no! She was a fighter. She was a survivor. And I will continue to celebrate her and her fight when I walk. However I will always miss her and her infectious smile and laugh. 

Leave a comment